Free Comics

The last story arc featured The Schlub getting agitated about comic fans misinterpreting his comic. There is a bit of truth in that comic on why I changed my comics, but it’s not the whole story.

Over the past few years I’ve been uneasy about selling my comics. Actually, I’m quite fine with selling my stuff… to people with money. But what about people without? Should people without money not be allowed to read comics? I know comics, in general, is a luxury item. People spend their money to buy their favorite characters in fantasy stories. If push came to shove, though, comics would be the first thing to cut when money is tight.

I feel like I can’t tell someone without money that they can’t read my stuff. I understand that it’s my work and I should be compensated. There are other methods to generate revenue. Ads are okay. A lot of people use Patreon. I signed up for one myself but I haven’t done any work on it yet. It’s not like I’m depended on turning a profit. Although it’d be nice to not pay for comic con tables or print runs out of pocket. But I just feel bad for people who can’t afford comics. I remember years ago watching a story about a little girl in Arkansas who walked around collecting newspapers because she wanted to read  the daily comics. Her family were really poor and had no TV or other forms of entertainment. It sucks to think that my stories will only be seen by people with disposable incomes.

I’m not saying all comics should be free. There are people whose livelihood depend on selling their comics. I think in my case, I’m looking at comics like TV shows. There’s a channel and you’ll get the content. However, you got to deal with some ads.

So yes and no. I did change Naked Man Comics to NMC comics so I wouldn’t get rejected from cons. But it was a catalysis for something I’ve been thinking about for a while.

My free library is at http://nakedmancomics.com.

-Illya

Leave a Reply

